Virat Kohli named ICC’s cricketer and captain of the year

Despite losing the series against South Africa, Indian captain and star batsman Virat Kohli had something to cheer as he was named the ICC Cricketer of the Year at the ICC Awards on Thursday. He was also named the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year and captain of both ICC Test and ODI teams. Continue reading “Virat Kohli named ICC’s cricketer and captain of the year”

Steve Smith Dani Willis Engagement Picture June 30th 2017

Australian skipper Steve Smith got engaged to his long tern girlfriend Dani Willis. He went down on his knees today in New York to propose her and she accepted his proposal. Dani Willis is a lawyer by profession.Steve Smith captained Rising Pune Supergiant and took his team to the final,but unfortunately couldnt clinch the IPL Title. Australia captained by Steve Smith failed in the ongoing Champions Trophy as two of the games were washed out. The ongoing pay dispute between Cricket Australia and the players have worsened with CA sending a formal letter to the players officially informing them they will be unemployed if a deal is not finalised by this week. Continue reading “Steve Smith Dani Willis Engagement Picture June 30th 2017”

IPL title right Sponsorship Value- Vivo to pay 2199 crore till 2022

Vivo the Chinese mobile manufacturer has retained the IPL Right for the next 5 seasons from the year 2018-2022 with a massive bid of 2199 crore. Vivo first bagged the title sponsorship in October 2015 for 2 editions from Pepsi Co India who had ended the 5 year contract, two years ago. The bid was opened on Tuesday in Mumbai, in the presence of both parties along with IPL chairman Rajiv Shukla and BCCI’s acting secretary Amitabh Choudhary. Continue reading “IPL title right Sponsorship Value- Vivo to pay 2199 crore till 2022”

The Man the Leader. MSD Autobiography-2016

He was just an ordinary kid in Ranchi which in the late 1990’s was a part of the state in Bihar. Like other boys, he went to school, got back home, had his lunch and he rushed to Mecon stadium which was nearby to his house. He used to like all outdoor sports.He was soft spoken, shy and was very serious about his studies also.. His friends nick named “MAHI” Football was one of his favourite game before he switched to cricket. His idol was Sachin Tendulkar. Sports teacher saw Mahi from close version. He asked Mahi whether he will be interested in playing cricket. Mahi was intially hesitant but he agrred and the sports teacher told him to come after the class for practice. He used to practice after school every evening. In the intial stages he struggled, but later on as the time passed he became a very good wicketkeeper. His teacher was very happy to see it. He was very fond of watching fighter jets that took off from the Kalaikunda air base near Kharagpur. Watching cricket on television was a must for Dhoni. He had arguments with his mates regarding which channel to watch. One day his room mate Deepak was watching Amitabh Bachchan’s movie ” Muqaddar Ka Sikandar”, whereas on the other channel they were showing India vs Australia match at the same time. Both wanted to see their own programs. They had an intense argument which led to fight resulting in a slight damage to the television. His friend Krishna who was a mere spectator had to intervene and decided to favour Dhoni and all of them watched the match. Robin, who hailed from Chhattisgarh, captained the SER team. Like Dhoni, he too worked as a TTE (Train Ticket Examiner) which meant that each of them spent long hours away from the flat.
People will remember Dhoni for hitting the spectacular six of Kulasekara which won India in the finals of the 50-over World Cup in 2011 against Sri Lanka. With grits, guts and determination he won India to an ICC World Twenty20, an ICC 50-over Cricket World Cup and an ICC Champions Trophy triumph, as well as the number one ranking in Tests. He promoted himself ahead of Yuvraj in 2011 world cup which raised eyebrows. But he played with determination and remained unbeaten on 93. He also won Chennai Super Kings 3 Ipl victories. His name even cropped up in the match fixing saga, but that didnt affect him that much and he continued to play with lot of intent. Although he has had his fair share of disappointments, for MSD, failure has been yet another motivation to work hard and succeed.