India Women vs South Africa Women Third T-20 Lucknow Match Report 2021

Shafali Verma scored a sparkling 30 ball-60, as India Women defeated the South Africa Women by 9 wickets in the third and the final T-20 international on Tuesday to register a consolation victory.

India Women vs South Africa Third T-20 (1)

Smriti Mandhana sent the Proteas in, and Rajeshwari Gayakwad justified her skipper’s decision by dismissing the in form Lizelle Lee and Anneke Bosch cheaply.

Radha Yadav then got into the act by dismissing Laura Wolvaardt to reduce the visitors to 16/3 .

Faye Tunnicliffe along with skipper Sune Luus added a brief stand of 24 runs for the fourth wicket before the former was bowled by Simran Bahadur for 18.

In the 15th over, Gayakwad picked up her third as she had Nadine de Klerk bowled for 9. Skipper Sune Luus was the top-scorer for South Africa with 28 runs, while Lara Goodall remained unbeaten on 25 off 17 balls, as the visitors ended up with a below par score of 112/7 at the end of 20 overs.

Gayakwad was India’s best bowler with figures of 3/9, while Arundhati Reddy, Radha Yadav, Deepti Sharma and Simran Bahadur claimed a wicket apiece.

Chasing 113, openers Shafali Verma along with Mandhana made a fantastic beginning by putting together a quickfire 96 run stand in just 51 balls. The 17 year old Shefali took on the South Africa bowlers by smashing them to all parts of the ground.

Nondumiso Shangase finally broke the stand by dismissing Shafali, caught at long on by Shabnim Ismail for a fine 60. Her innings comprised of seven fours and five sixes.

Skipper Mandhana remained unbeaten on 48, as India Women comfortably overhauled the target with nine overs to spare. South Africa Women however clinched the three-match T20I series 2-1, having won the first two games.

Rajeshwari Gayakwad was declared the Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *