India Squad for Home T20 & Test vs Sri Lanka February- March 2022- Saurabh Kumar receives maiden Test call-up

The BCCI announced India’s T20I and test squad against Sri Lanka on Saturday. The tour comprises of three T20Is and two tests.

Rohit Sharma has been appointed as the full time test skipper, while Jasprit Bumrah has been named his deputy.

The likes of Cheteshwar Pujara Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha and Ishant Sharma have been axed from the squad.

Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant and Shardul Thakur have been rested for the entire series.

All rounder Ravindra Jadeja who missed India’s recent tour to South Africa makes a comeback to both the T20I and the Test squads.

Sanju Samson will don the gloves in the T20Is in place of Pant. Uttar Pradesh left-arm spinner Saurabh Kumar has received a maiden test call up.


Deepak Chahar and Suryakumar Yadav have been ruled out of the upcoming T20I series against Sri Lanka due to injury.

India’s T20I squad for Sri Lanka series

Rohit Sharma (capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah (vice-capt) & Avesh Khan.


Axar Patel has returned to India’s squad for the second Test against Sri Lanka beginning March 12 in Bengaluru. The left-arm orthodox spinner has replaced another the left-arm wristspinner Kuldeep Yadav, who has been released from the squad.

India’s test squad

Rohit Sharma (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, R Pant, KS Bharat, Ravichandran Ashwin (subject to fitness), Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Axar Patel, J Bumrah (vc), Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav & Saurabh Kumar

T20I Schedule

India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I: February 24 in Lucknow
India vs Sri Lanka 2nd T20I: February 26 in Dharamsala
India vs Sri Lanka 3rd T20I: February 27 in Dharamsala

Test Schedule

India vs Sri Lanka 1st Test: March 4-8 in Mohali
India vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test (D/N): March 12-16 in Bengaluru

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *