India vs Sri Lanka Third T-20 Colombo Match Report 2021

Wanindu Hasaranga claimed figures of 4/9 as Sri Lanka defeated India by 7 wickets in the third T-20 international at Colombo on Thursday.

After winning the toss and electing to bat first, India started shakily by losing skipper Shikhar Dhawan in the very first over to Dushmantha Chameera for a duck.

Ramesh Mendis then got into the act by trapping Devdutt Padikkal leg before wicket for 9. Hasaranga then dismissed Gaikwad and Sanju Samson in space of three deliveries leaving the visitors in deep trouble at 25/4.

Kuldeep Yadav (23) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (16) scored some handy runs down the order to take his side to a meagre total of 81/8 in their allotted 20 overs.

In response, Sri Lanka made a solid start with openers Avishka Fernando and Minod Bhanuka adding 23 runs for the opening wicket. Though Rahul Chahar’s three-wicket haul kept the visitors in the contest, the duo of Dhananjaya de Silva (23) along with Wanindu Hasaranga held their nerves and took their side to a comfortable 7 wicket win.

Hasaranga was declared the Man of the Match.

India 81/8 (Kuldeep Yadav 23, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 16; Wanindu Hasaranga 4/9, Dasun Shanaka 2/20) lost to Sri Lanka 82/3 (Dhananjaya de Silva 23*, Minod Bhanuka 18; Rahul Chahar 3/15,) by 7 wickets.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *