Australia’s Test Squad against Sri Lanka 2019- Will Pucovski Receives Maiden Test Call Up

Here is the 13 man roster announced by Australia’s selectors to do duty for the national team feature in the two test matches against Sri Lanka beginning January 24.

Stung by the poor performances of several players in the recent 2-1 loss to India (their first ever loss at home in the test format to the nation), the selectors have wielded the axe, with the likes of Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, his brother Mitchell, and Peter Handscomb all shown the door.

There is a maiden call up to the national squad for talented youngster Will Pucovski. The 20 year old has always been regarded as one for the future, despite his limited first class experience, but recently took a break from the game owing to mental health issues.

Joining Pucowski in the national squad are the Queensland pair of Joe Burns and Matt Renshaw. The bowling united has however remained unchanged, with Peter Siddle also retaining his spot in the squad.

The first of the two test matches will be played at Brisbane (Jan 24-28), with the other to be played in the Australian capital city of Canberra (Feb 1-5). Neither venue hosted a test during India’s tour Down Under.

Based on this squad, we probably see Australia’s starting lineup as Renshaw, Harris, Khawaja, Labuschagne, Head, Burns, Paine, Starc, Cummins, Hazlewood and Lyon.

Sri Lanka are coming into this tour on the back of a poor showing across the Tasman Sea, with New Zealand outclassing them in both the tests and the ODI’s.

Will Pucovski

Pucovski, Renshaw and Burns will also be seen in action in a three day practice game between Sri Lanka and CA XI that will be played in Hobart from January 17.

Australia Test Squad for Sri Lanka

Tim Paine (c), Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Will Pucovski, Matt Renshaw, Mitchell Starc, Peter Siddle and Jhye Richardson

Edit- January 19. Jhye Richardson has been named in the squad in place of Josh Hazlewood who has been ruled out due to back injury.

CA XI squad for Sri Lanka game

Joe Burns (c), Kurtis Patterson, Scott Boland, Jake Doran, Jon Holland, Marnus Labuschagne, Michael Neser, Will Pucovski, Jason Sangha, Matt Renshaw, Chris Tremain

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *