India’s ODI Record at SCG against Australia- How many games have India won?

Here is Team India’s one day record against Australia at Sydney, where the two sides will square off against each other in the first of the three one day international to be played on 12 January.

India registered their first ever test series win over Australia earlier this week and will be looking to replicate their performance in the shorter format of the game. India have never won a bilateral ODI series in Australia (not counting a Tri Series win) in their history, and will certainly fancy their chances. Given the ODI form of both teams since the last World Cup, the visitors have a great chance at making another piece of history.

Out of the 16 games played so far between them in the New South Welsh capital, Australia have won 13, with one game producing no result and two going the way of the visitors.

Both of India’s ODI victories against Australia at the SCG have come in this century- one in the year 2008 and the other more recently in 2016. In 3008, they triumphed over the home side in the first final of the CB Tri-Series. India won by 6 wickets thanks to contributions from Sachin Tendulkar and Rohit Sharma who scored 117 & 66 respectively as they comfortably chased down a modest target of 240 with plenty to spare.

The 2016 win again saw Sharma play a pivotal one, with the MI captain scoring 99 as India won by six wickets. It was a tighter game compared to the 2008 one as the visitors needed 13 off the last over, and managed to achieve it with just two balls to spare. Apart from Sharma, the other key contributions came from Shikhar Dhawan (78) and Manish Pandey, who scored the winning runs and finished with 104 from 81 balls.

The game that did not produce a result was in the year 2015 where a rain hit affair only saw 16 overs being bowled.

18 December 1980Australia won by 9 wickets
8 January 1981 Australia won by 9 wickets
15 January 1981Australia won by 27 runs
21 January 1986 Australia won by 100 runs
5 February 1986Australia won by 11 runs
14 January 1992Australia won by 9 wickets
20 January 1992 Australia won by 6 runs
14 January 2000 Australia won by 5 wickets
22 January 2004Australia won by 2 wickets
8 February 2004Australia won by 208 runs
24 February 2008Australia won by 18 runs
2 March 2008India won by 6 wickets
26 February 2012 Australia won by 87 runs
26 January 2015No Result
26 March 2015Australia won by 95 runs
23 January 2016India won by 6 wickets
12 January 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *