India roster for Australia ODI’s and NZ T20 series 2019- Shami back in ODI squad

India have today (December 24, 2018) named their ODI squad for the upcoming series in Australia and New Zealand as well as the T20 series against the Black Caps. The ODI squad features 16 players, and gives a pretty good idea of how their World Cup squad might be.

There is no place for test wicket keeper Rishabh Pant in both ODI squads, with veteran MS Dhoni set to return behind the stumps. Dinesh Karthik will provide wicket keeping cover in both squads. Left arm pacer Khaleel Ahmed gets another shot, while the ODI series also sees a return to the squad for Mohd Shami.

The differences between the ODI and T20 squads announced come in the form of two players- Pant and Krunal Pandya will play in the T20’s while Ambati Rayudu and Ravindra Jadeja will only feature in the 50 over series.

The ODI squad named below is a 16 member one, while teams have to select a 15 man roster for the World Cup. Is it a toss up between Khaleel and Shami for the WC squad? Or will both go to England and Jadeja miss out?

The Indian selectors have also announced that youngster Pant will play for the A side against the England Lions after he returns from Australia.

Edit-January 2019 Jasprit Bumrah has been rested for the forthcoming ODI series in Australia and the New Zealand tour

Mohammed Siraj has been named as Bumrah’s replacement in ODI’S while Siddarth Kaul has been drafted to the squad for the T20I series in New Zealand.

Edit- January 2019 Shubman Gill and all rounder Vijay Shankar have been called up as replacements for Lokesh Rahul and Hardik Pandya in India’s limited-overs squads.

Shankar will be joining the team that is currently in Australia ahead of the second one dayer, which will be played in Adelaide on January 15.

Gill, will not be featuring in the ODI series against Australia but will be part of the squad in New Zealand, where India are scheduled to play five ODIs and three T20Is, beginning January 23.

India’s ODI’s against Australia will be played at Sydney (January 12), Adelaide (Jan 15) and Melbourne (Jan 18) respectively. Virat Kohli’s men will then move to New Zealand for a five match ODI series (2 at Mount Maunganui and one each at Napier, Hamilton and Wellington) and a 3 game T20 series (Wellington, Auckland, Hamilton). All of India’s fixtures on their NZ tour will therefore be on the North Island, with neither Christchurch nor Dunedin being given a game. The tour will conclude in the second week of February.

The Indian women squad will also be touring their Kiwi counterparts around the same time.

India Squad for Australia ODI Series 2019

ODI squad for Australia and New Zealand

Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma (vice-capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (WK), Vijay Shankar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, Khaleel Ahmed and Mohammed Shami

T20I squad for New Zealand

Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma (vice-capt), Shubman Gill, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (WK), Vijay Shankar, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, Khaleel Ahmed and Siddarth Kaul

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *