List of Asia Cup Winners, Hosts & Runners Up- 1984 till date

Here are the list of Asia Cup winners from the year 1984 till date. The tournament, in its current form, is a biennial limited overs tournament (held every 2 years, alternating between the T20 and ODI formats). In the last edition (2016), it was played in the T20 format. Between 1984 and 2016, it was played exclusively as an ODI tournament.

1. Which team has won the Asia Cup the most number of times?

India has won the most number of Asia Cups. They have won 7 times- in the years 1984, 1988, 1990-91, 1995, 2010, 2016 (T-20) and 2018

2. How many times has the Asia Cup been held in the UAE?

The UAE have hosted the Asia Cup three times (1984, 1995 and the current 2018 edition). India won the tournament in both 1984 and 1995.

3. How many times have Sri Lanka won the Asia Cup?

Sri Lanka are the second most successful team in the history of the Asia Cup behind India, with 5 trophies.

4. How many Asia Cups have Pakistan won?

Pakistan have won 2 Asia Cups (in 2000 and 2012). On both of those occasions, the Asia Cup was held in Bangladesh.

5. Have Bangladesh ever won the Asia Cup?

Despite being hosts 5 times, Bangladesh have not won the Asia Cup till date. They were however runners up in 2012, 2016 and 2018.

YearHostsWinnersRunners up
1984 UAEIndiaSri Lanka
1986Sri LankaSri LankaPakistan
1988BangladeshIndiaSri Lanka
1990-91IndiaIndiaSri Lanka
1995UAEIndiaSri Lanka
1997Sri LankaSri LankaIndia
2000BangladeshPakistanSri Lanka
2004Sri LankaSri LankaIndia
2008PakistanSri LankaIndia
2010Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2014BangladeshSri LankaBangladesh
2016 (T20)BangladeshIndiaBangladesh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *