India Squad for T20I Asia Cup August- September 2022- Jasprit Bumrah injured, KL Rahul & Virat Kohli returns

The BCCI on Monday announced India’s squad for the upcoming Asia Cup scheduled to be held from August 27 to September 11 in Dubai.

Former Indian skipper Virat Kohli and KL Rahul have been included in the 15 member squad.

The Men in Blue suffered a body blow when star pacer Jasprit Bumrah & Harshal Patel have been ruled out due to injuries.

The selectors have included Deepak Hooda as a middle order batsman in place of Shreyas Iyer and Sanju Samson.

India have included Ravi Bishnoi and Yuzvendra Chahal has two wrist spinners. The fast bowling attack comprises of left arm pacer Arshdeep Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan & all rounder Hardik Pandya.

The likes of Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel and Deepak Chahar have been named as stand-by players, while Ishan Kishan, Kuldeep Yadav and Sanju Samson who were part of the recently concluded five match T20I series against West Indies have been dropped.

They will kickstart their campaign against arch rivals Pakistan on August 28. Kuwait, UAE, Hong Kong, and Singapore will be playing in the qualifier.

India Squad for Asia Cup 2022:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant(Wk), Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik (Wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh & Avesh Khan (Deepak Chahar)

All rounder Ravindra Jadeja has been ruled out of the Asia Cup due to Knee injury and will be replaced by Axar Patel.

Avesh Khan has been ruled out of the Asia Cup due to illness and will be replaced by Deepak Chahar.

Standby Players:

Shreyas Iyer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *