India ODI Squad for South Africa Series March 2020- First by new Sunil Joshi selection committee

Shikhar Dhawan, Hardik Pandya and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have made a comeback to India’s 15 man ODI squad for the South Africa series that was announced earlier today. The trio had missed the recently concluded tour of New Zealand, which the visitors lost 3-0, due to injury.

This is the first Indian squad to be selected by the country’s new selection committee, headed by Sunil Joshi.

What changes have India made from the NZ ODI series for the South Africa games?

Rohit Sharma is injured- he has not fully recovered from the calf injury he suffered during the fifth T20I against New Zealand, but Shikhar Dhawan, as mentioned above, has returned. Mayank Agarwal, who replaced Sharma in NZ, is not part of the 15, with Shubman Gill included in the side.

Also missing out are Kedar Jadhav, Shivam Dube, Mohammed Shami and Shardul Thakur. Shami has been rested as a precautionary measure following his shoulder injury in the second test.

ODI squad for South AfricaPrevious ODI Squad for NZ
Virat Kohli (c)Virat Kohli (c)
Prithvi ShawRohit Sharma Mayank Agarwal
KL RahulKL Rahul
Shreyas IyerShreyas Iyer
Manish PandeyManish Pandey
Shikhar DhawanShikhar Dhawan Prithvi Shaw
Rishabh PantRishabh Pant
Hardik PandyaShivam Dube
Bhuvneshwar KumarKedar Jadhav
Ravindra JadejaRavindra Jadeja
Kuldeep YadavKuldeep Yadav
Yuzvendra ChahalYuzvendra Chahal
Jasprit BumrahJasprit Bumrah
Navdeep SainiNavdeep Saini
Shubman GillMohammed Shami
Shardul Thakur

Mumbai Indians all rounder Hardik Pandya’s inclusion is the big one- Pandya lends much needed balance to the to the squad and judging by his stunning 158 (55) in a recent local T20 game, he is raring to go.

India were whitewashed in their last ODI series against New Zealand and will be hoping to put up a better show against the Proteas, who will be full of confidence after a stunning clean sweep of Australia earlier this month.

The series is scheduled to kickoff in Dharamshala on March 12 followed by the next two ODIs which are to be held in Lucknow and Kolkata on the 15th & 18th respectively.

India ODI Squad for SA series

Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Shubman Gill

Here is a look at the Proteas 16 man squad who will be touring India.

Opening batsman Janneman Malan is a late inclusion to South Africa’s squad for the three match ODI series. Malan made a duck on debut and was not part of the original 15 member squad, but has has been added to the touring party after a fantastic century in the second ODI in Bloemfontein.

Quinton de Kock (captain & WK), Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen, Faf du Plessis, Kyle Verreynne, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Jon-Jon Smuts, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lungi Ngidi, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Anrich Nortje, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj & Janneman Malan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *