Kings XI Punjab vs Kolkata Knight Riders 3 May Match Report-2019

Shubman Gill scored an unbeaten 65, as Kolkata Knight Riders kept their playoffs alive by defeating the Kings XI Punjab by seven wickets at PCA Stadium, Mohali on Thursday.

Punjab included Sam Curran and Andrew Tye in place of Mujeeb and David Miller, while the home side went in with an unchanged line up.

After being sent into bat by KKR skipper, KXIP started disastrously as they lost wickets of KL Rahul and Chris Gayle cheaply to Sandeep Warrier.

Nicholas Pooran and Mayank Agarwal added 69 runs for the third wicket, before the latter was caught at deep midwicket by Sandeep off Nitish Rana for a breezy 48.

The 28 year old Mayank Agarwal looked good in his innings of 36, before being run out by Rinku Singh.

Mandeep Singh and Sam Curran were involved in a 38 run stand for the fifth wicket, before the former was dismissed caught by Uthappa off Gurney, with the score on 149/5.

Curran took on his countrymate Gurney by smashing him for 22 runs in the final over, which included 3 fours and a six. He reached his half century in just 23 balls, as Punjab posted a respectable 183/6 at the end of their allotted 20 overs.

Sandeep Warrier was Kolkata Knight Riders best bowler as bagged 2/31 in 4 overs.

Chasing a target of 184, Kolkata Knight Riders opening pair of Shubman Gill and Chris Lynn made a fantastic beginning as the duo added 62 runs in 36 balls, before the latter fell to Andrew Tye for 46 runs.

Gill and Robin Uthappa added 38 runs for the second wicket, before Ravi Ashwin dismissed the latter for 22.

Andre Russell promoted at No 4 continued his vein rich of form with the bat by scoring a quickfire 24 off 14 balls, before falling to Mohammed Shami.

KKR skipper Karthik scored a brilliant 21 off 9 balls as the home side reached the target of 184 with 12 balls to spare.

Shubman Gill was declared the Man of the Match.

Shubman Gill

The 53rd match of the Indian Premier League will be a double header with Delhi Capitals taking on Rajasthan Royals at Delhi, while Royal Challengers Bangalore will be squaring off against Sunrisers Hyderabad at Bengaluru, on May 4 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *