List of Global T-20 League Owners-2017

Here are the list of owners of the eight franchises in South Africa’s newly formed T20 league- the T20 Global League. The owners of Durban (Rana Fawad) and Benoni (Javed Afridi) are from Pakistan.

Rana owns the Lahore Qalandars Franchise in the PSL and Javed, the cousin of well known international cricketer, Shahid Afridi, is the man behind Peshawar Zalmi.

Stellenbosch MonarchsPreity Zinta
Cape Town Knight Riders Shah Rukh Khan
Durban QalandarsFawad Rana
Benoni ZalmiJaved Afridi
Jo'burg GiantsGMR Group
Bloem City BlazersSushil Kumar
Nelson Mandela Bay StarsAjay Sethi
Pretoria Mavericks Hermis Sports Ventures

Bollywood actress Preity Zinta, who co-owns the Kings XI Punjab IPL franchise, has taken over the Stellenbosch franchise after its original owners, Mushtaq Brey (Brimstone Group), pulled out citing financial reasons.

The Cape Town Knight Riders, as you might have guessed, is owned by Indian superstar actor Shah Rukh Khan, adding to the Kolkata Knight Riders (IPL) and Trinbago Knight Riders (CPL) that he already has a stake in.

The GMR Group, who also own IPL franchise Delhi Daredevils, have bought the Johannesburg franchise (Jo’Burg giants)

The NMB Stars and Bloem City Blazers are owned Ajay Sethi (Dubai) and Sushil Kumar (Hong Kong) respectively.

The Pretoria Mavericks are owned by Hermis Sports Ventures, a joint venture of Hermis (UK), Indian companies Percept and the Rajhans Group, and local businessman Osman Osman (Blu Blood)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *