India vs West Indies Fifth T20I 13 August Lauderhill Match Report 2023

Brandon King scored a blazing unbeaten 85 as West Indies beat India by eight wickets to clinch in the five match series 3-2 in Lauderhill, Florida on Sunday.

After winning the toss and electing to bat first, India got off to a worst start, losing both Yashasvi Jaiswal (5) and Shubman Gill (9) to Akeal Hosein inside three overs.

Suryakumar Yadav along with Tilak Varma added 49 runs for the third wicket stand before the latter fell to a brilliant catch by Roston Chase for 27.

Sanju Samson (13) departed cheaply, nicking at a length delivery from Romario Shepherd to wicket keeper Pooran behind the stumps.

Suryakumar reached his half century with a maximum off Alzarri Joseph. Skipper Hardik Pandya (14) fell soon after resumption, caught at long on by Jason Holder off Shepherd.

Holder then struck a massive blow by trapping Yadav right in front of the stumps for a fine 45 ball-61. Arshdeep Singh came in and smacked Shepherd for a maximum down the ground, but was cleaned up off a very next delivery.

West Indies pacer Shepherd claimed his fourth wicket of the innings by trapping Kuldeep Yadav leg before wicket for a golden duck.

However Axar Patel scored a 10 ball-13 to lift India to 165/9 in their 20 overs.

Chasing 166, Kyle Mayers got West Indies off to a fine start by taking on Hardik Pandya for a six and a four in his very first over. Arshdeep then got into the act by dismissing Mayers to a fine running catch by Jaiswal for 10.

The pair of Brandon King along with Nicholas Pooran featured in a second wicket stand of 107 runs before Tilak Varma claimed his maiden wicket as the latter mistimed a reverse sweep and lobbed a catch to Pandya at slip for 47.

Shai Hope (22)* finished the game in style by launching Jaiswal for a maximum as the hosts reached the target with 12 balls to spare.

West Indies 171 for 2 (King 85*, Pooran 47) beat India 165 for 9 (Suryakumar 61, Shephard 4-31, Hosein 2-24) by eight wickets

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *