India vs West Indies First T20I Tarouba July 29 Match Report 2022

Skipper Rohit Sharma’s magnificent 64 and a breezy unbeaten 41 by Dinesh Karthik helped India beat West Indies by 68 runs in the first T20 international at the Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba, Trinidad on Friday.

West Indies skipper Nicholas Pooran won the toss and elected to field first. India opened the innings with Suryakumar Yadav and skipper Rohit. The duo added 44 runs for the opening wicket before the former (24) miscued a floated delivery from Akeal Hosein to Jason Holder at short third man.

Obed McCoy then got into the act by dismissing Shreyas Iyer, caught brilliantly by a diving Hosein at short third man for a duck.

Rohit along with Rishabh Pant featured in a 43 run stand for the third wicket before the latter perished to Keemo Paul for 14, while going for a full length drive.

Hardik Pandya (1) then ramped a short ball from Alzarri Joseph to McCoy at short third man.

Rohit Sharma’s fine innings ended when he lofted a slower delivery from Jason Holder to Shimron Heymeyer at wide long off. His knock came off 44 balls with 7 fours and 2 sixes.

India were in further trouble as Ravindra Jadeja (16) presented a catch to Keemo Paul at short third man off Joseph.

Dinesh Karthik in the end provided a final flourish by scoring a quickfire unbeaten 19 ball-41 to take India to an imposing total of 190/6 in their allotted 20 overs.

Chasing 191, openers Kyle Mayers and Shamarh Brooks got West Indies off to a quickfire start. The pair added 22 runs before the former (15) top edged a delivery from Arshdeep Singh to Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Jason Holder who was promoted up the order, was bowled by Ravindra Jadeja for a duck.

Bhuvnshwar then cleaned up Shamarh Brooks (20), leaving the hosts in a spot of bother at 42/3.

Nicholas Pooran was dismissed for 18, while attempting to cut a straight one from Ravichandran Ashwin and nicked one to Rishabh Pant behind the stumps.

Leg spinner Ravi Bishnoi then dismissed Rovman Powell (14) with a googly. Ravi Ashwin dented West Indies hopes by dismissing Shimron Hetmyer (14), caught at long off by Suryakumar Yadav.

Bishnoi claimed his second wicket by dismissing Odean Smith stumped by Pant for a second ball duck.

Arshdeep claimed Akeal Hosein’s (11) with a magnificent yorker, as West Indies were restricted to 122/8.

For India, Arshdeep Singh, Ravi Bishnoi and Ravichandran Ashwin picked up 2 wickets each while Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ravindra Jadeja bagged a wicket each.

Dinesh Karthik was declared the Man of the Match for his swashbuckling knock.

The second T20 international will be played on Monday, August 1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *