India Women squad for Commonwealth Games 2022

The BCCI on Monday announced India Women’s 15 member squad for the upcoming Commonwealth Games beginning July 29 in Birmingham.

India Women squad for the commonwealth games 2022 (1)

All rounder Sneh Rana, wicket keeper Taniya Bhatia and Harleen Deol have been included in the squad. India are placed in Group A alongside Australia, Barbados, and Pakistan. Group B consists of Sri Lanka, England, New Zealand and South Africa.

India will start their campaign against Australia on July 29. They will then face arch-rivals Pakistan on July 31, followed by the match against Barbados on August 3.

This will be the first time that women’s cricket will feature in the competition. The pace attack consists of Meghna Singh, Renuka Singh and Pooja Vastrakar, while Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav and Deepti Sharma will be leading the spin attack.

S Meghana will join the women’s squad for the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham on Thursday after recovering from Covid-19.

The team will be led by Harmanpreet Kaur, while Smriti Mandhana will be here deputy. The likes of Richa Ghosh, Simran Bahadur and Poonam Yadav have been named as the three standby players.

India’s women’s squad for CWG 2022:

Harmanpreet Kaur (capt), Smriti Mandhana (vice-capt), Shafali Verma, S Meghana, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Yastika Bhatia (wk), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol & Sneh Rana

Standby players:

Richa Ghosh, Simran Bahadur, Poonam Yadav

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *