Punjab Kings vs Rajasthan Royals May 7 Wankhede Stadium Match Report 2022

Yashasvi Jaiswal scored a fine 68 as the Rajasthan Royals defeated the Punjab Kings by six wickets at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Saturday.

After winning the toss and electing to bat first, openers Jonny Bairstow along with Shikhar Dhawan put on 47 runs for the opening wicket before the latter fell to a brilliant one handed catch by Jos Buttler at mid on off Ravichandran Ashwin for 12.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa looked good in his knock of 27, before perishing to Yuzvendra Chahal.

Punjab lost a bit of momentum as skipper Mayank Agarwal (15) and Jonny Bairstow (56) fell in the same over off Chahal.

However Jitesh Sharma along with Liam Livingstone provided a late fourish to take PBKS to 189/5 in their allotted 20 overs.

For Rajasthan, leg spinner Yuzvendra Chahal was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 3/28.

In response, openers Yashasvi Jaiswal and Jos Buttler got Rajasthan off to a quickfire start. The duo added 46 runs for the opening stand before Kagiso Rabada dismissed the dangerous Buttler caught at short third man, while attempting a scoop for a breezy 16 ball-30.

Skipper Sanju Samson looked in good touch, before he skied a delivery from Rishi Dhawan for a 12 ball-23.

Jaiswal along with Devdutt Padikkal featured in a 56 run stand for the third wicket before the former fell to Arshdeep Singh for a brilliant 68. His knock came off 41 balls with 9 fours and 2 sixes.

Padikkal then fell for 31, hitting a full toss from Arshdeep to Agarwal at cover.

With 8 needed off the final over, Shimron Hetmyer launched Rahul Chahar for a six over long on to take Rajasthan to a comfortable win.

With this win, the Royals move to the third position in the points table.

Left hander Yashasvi Jaiswal was declared the Man of the Match for his impressive knock.

Punjab Kings 189-5 in 20 overs (Jonny Bairstow 56, Jitesh Sharma 38*; Yuzvendra Chahal 3/28) lost to Rajasthan Royals 190/4 in 19.4 overs (Yashasvi Jaiswal 68, Jos Buttler 30, Devdutt Padikkal 31, Shimron Hetmyer 31* Arshdeep Singh 2-29) by 6 wickets.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *