India Test Squad for South Africa Tour 2021-2022

The BCCI announced an 18 man squad for the upcoming test series against South Africa starting 26 December.

KL Rahul has been named as the new vice-captain of the Test team in place of Rohit Sharma, who has been ruled out due to injury.

The likes of Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel and Shubman Gill have all been ruled out due to injuries. Hanuma Vihari who was not part of India’s Test squad for New Zealand series, makes a comeback in the squad.

Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah, who were rested for the 2-Test series against New Zealand return to the side.

India’s Test squad for South Africa tour

Virat Kohli (c), Priyank Panchal, KL Rahul (vc), Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur and Mohammed Siraj.


Rohit Sharma has been ruled out of the three-Test series against South Africa due to left hamstring injury. Gujarat opener Priyank Panchal has been named as his replacement.

Standby Players– Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar and Arzan Nagwaswalla.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India also named Rohit Sharma as Team India’s new ODI skipper, relieving Virat Kohli of his duties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *