Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals 1st Qualifier 5 November Match Report 2020

Jasprit Bumrah produced a brilliant spell with the ball, as Mumbai Indians reached the finals by defeating the Delhi Capitals by 57 runs in the Qualifier 1 at the Dubai International Stadium on Thursday.

Mumbai included Hardik Pandya, Bumrah and Trent Boult in place of Saurabh Tiwary, James Pattinson and Dhawal Kulkarni, while Delhi went with an unchanged XI.

Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals first Qualifier starting line up

After being sent in by DC, MI skipper Rohit Sharma was trapped leg before wicket to Ravi Ashwin for a duck in the second over.

The pair of Quinton De Kock and Suryakumar Yadav added 62 runs for the second wicket, before the former became Ashwin’s second victim for a well made 40.

Defending champions were in a spot of bother as both Yadav (51) and Kieron Pollard perished in quick succession leaving their side in trouble at 101/4.

Kishan and Hardik Pandya stitched together a 60 run stand off just 23 balls, to take Mumbai Indians to an imposing total of 200/5 at the end of their allotted 20 overs.

Ashwin was Delhi Capitals best bowler with figures of 3/29.

Chasing 201, Capitals started disastrously by losing Prithvi Shaw and Ajinkya Rahane to Trent Boult in the first over for ducks.

Bumrah got into the act by dismissing Shikhar Dhawan to a brilliant yorker and proceeded to dismiss Shreyas Iyer in the fourth over for 12, caught superbly by Sharma at cover.

Rishabh Pant’s poor outing with the bat continued, as he was caught at wide long on by Suryakumar off Krunal Pandya leaving their team in dire straits at 41/5.

The pair of Marcus Stoinis and Axar Patel resurrected the innings with a 71 run stand for the sixth wicket before spearhead Bumrah claimed the prize scalp of Stoinis in the 16th over, thus putting an end to his entertaining knock of 65 runs.

Jasprit Bumrah

The 26 year old Axar Patel scored a breezy 42 before falling to Pollard, as Delhi Capitals ended up with 143/8 giving Mumbai a comfortable 57 run win.

They will now be playing the winner of the Eliminator between the Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *