Kings XI Punjab vs Royal Challengers Bangalore 24 September Match Report 2020

Lokesh Rahul scored a magnificent record breaking century, as Kings XI Punjab thumped Royal Challengers Bangalore by 97 runs to register their first win of the season at Dubai on Thursday.

RCB went in with an unchanged XI, while Punjab included M Ashwin and Jimmy Neesham in place of Krishnappa Gowtham and Chris Jordan.

After being put into bat first by RCB, KXIP opening pair of Mayank Agarwal and Rahul got there team off to a flying start with a 57-run stand for the first wicket, before Yuzvendra Chahal broke the stand by claiming Agarwal for 26.

Nicholas Pooran joined skipper in the middle and the duo added 57 runs for the second wicket, before Pooran was caught at mid off by AB De Villiers off Shivam Dube in the 14th over.

Glenn Maxwell fell cheaply, as he was caught at extra cover by Aaron Finch off Dube for 5.

Karun Nair along with the 28 year old Karnataka batsman took on the RCB bowlers by smashing them all round the park with an unbeaten 78 run stand for the fourth wicket.

Skipper KL Rahul who was dropped by Virat Kohli on both occassions, made Bangalore bowlers pay by smashing five huge sixes in the final two overs of KXIP innings to finish with an unbeaten 132, as Punjab ended up with a mammoth score of 206/3 at the end of 20 overs.

His innings comprised off seven sixes and 14 fours. In doing so, the stylish right-hander also became the fastest Indian to reach 2000 IPL runs. Karun remained unbeaten on 15.

KL Rahul

Chasing 207, RCB got off to a shaky start as they lost opener Devdutt Padikkal cheaply in the very first over.

Australian batsman Josh Philippe who was promoted at number 3, failed to make use of the opportunity as he dismissed leg before wicket for a duck by Mohammad Shami.

After Philippe’s departure, skipper Virat Kohli top edged a Sheldon Cottrell delivery to Ravi Bishnoi in the third over, as Bangalore were in a big trouble at 4/3.

AB de Villiers and Aaron Finch anchored the innings with a 49 run stand for the fourth wicket, before Finch was bowled by Bishnoi.

In the very next over, former South African star De Villiers carved one straight to Sarfraz Khan at deep point to give Murugan Ashwin his first wicket.

Washington Sundar (30) and Shivam Dube showed some resistance towards the end, but spinners Ravi Bishnoi and M Ashwin wrecked the Royal Challengers’ lower-middle order, as they were routed out for 109 in 17 overs, giving Punjab a comprehensive 97 run win for their side.

Both Bishnoi and Ashwin claimed three wickets each while Cottrell bagged 2/17.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *