Indian Women vs Sri Lanka Women Third ODI Match Report-2018

Indian skipper Mithali Raj’s knock of 125 runs went in vain as Sri Lankan women defeated the Indian Women in the third and final one day international on Sunday at Katunayake.

Sri Lankan captain Chamari Atapattu won the toss and elected to field.

India got off to a terrible start as they lost Jemimah Rodrigues for a duck.

The pair of Smriti Mandhana and Raj joined in and added 102 runs for the second wicket, before Mandhana was dismissed by the Lankan skipper Atapattu for a well made 51.

Harmanpreet Kaur stitched a partnership of 45 runs for the third wicket with Mithali ,before Kaur fell to Siriwardene of the bowling off Dilhari for a scratchy 17 runs.

Deepti Sharma played a cameo by scoring 38 off 44 balls.

Mithali’s unbeaten 125 runs off 143 balls comprised of 14 fours and one six.

Mithali Raj

They posted a competitive total of 253 for 5 in their alloted 50 overs.

For Sri Lanka, Prabodhani, de Silva, Siriwardene, Atapattu and Dilhari picked up a wicket each.

Chasing a target of 254 runs, the Lankan opening pair of Chamari Atapattu and Hasini Perera made a good beginning as they added 101 runs for the first wicket, before Poonam Yadav broke through by dismissing Perera for 45 runs.

Sanjeewani joined skipper as both added 55 runs for the second wicket, before Jhulan Goswami claimed the the vital wicket of Anushka for 22 runs.

The host’s skipper Atapattu scored a blistering hundred as she went on to make 115 runs off 133 balls, before being caught by Joshi of the bowling off Hemalatha.

Chamari Atapattu

There were few hiccups, but the 17 year old Kavisha Dilhari gave the finishing touches to the run chase by scoring an unbeaten 12 runs off just 7 deliveries.

Jhulan Goswami and Mansi Joshi scalped two wickets each.

Sri Lanka and India will now be locking horns in the three match T20 International series.

The first of the three T20I will be taking place on 19th September.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *