List of Asia Cup Winners, Hosts & Runners Up- 1984 till date

Here are the list of Asia Cup winners from the year 1984 till date. The tournament, in its current form, is a biennial limited overs tournament (held every 2 years, alternating between the T20 and ODI formats). In the last edition (2016), it was played in the T20 format. Between 1984 and 2016, it was played exclusively as an ODI tournament.

1. Which team has won the Asia Cup the most number of times?

India has won the most number of Asia Cups. They have won 7 times- in the years 1984, 1988, 1990-91, 1995, 2010, 2016 (T-20) and 2018

2. How many times has the Asia Cup been held in the UAE?

The UAE have hosted the Asia Cup three times (1984, 1995 and the current 2018 edition). India won the tournament in both 1984 and 1995. Continue reading “List of Asia Cup Winners, Hosts & Runners Up- 1984 till date”

Proteas batting record under Dale Benkenstein as coach- South Africa stats in tests & ODI’s

South Africa’s batting, over the last few years, has shown a remarkable decline. The Proteas have tended to depend on a lot on individuals- most notably AB De Villiers and Hashim Amla, but with the former now retired and the latter declining with age, South Africa’s batting doesn’t seem to be as strong as it was.

Dale Benkenstein took over as Proteas batting coach from Neil McKenzie late last year, and while it would be unfair to pin their batting woes on him alone, the stats don’t make for good reading. Is it poor coaching, or simply a decline in the quality of batsmen coming through the system? Continue reading “Proteas batting record under Dale Benkenstein as coach- South Africa stats in tests & ODI’s”

Sri Lanka vs South Africa T-20 Match Report-2018

The Sri Lankan spinner Lakshan Sandakan bamboozled the Proteas batting line up with the figures off 3/19 in 4 overs, that helped his side beat the vistors by 3 wickets for their lowest total in the one off T-20 game at Colombo on 14 August. Continue reading “Sri Lanka vs South Africa T-20 Match Report-2018”

Century on ODI debut- Reeza Hendricks for South Africa 2018

Reeza Hendricks scored a century on debut as South Africa took an unassailable 3-0 lead in their ODI series against Sri Lanka. With the stage moving from Dambulla to Pallekele, the Proteas decided to make one change, with the out of form Aiden Markram replaced by Lions batsman Hendricks.

Reeza Hendricks

Sri Lanka skipper Angelo Matthews won the toss and inserted the Proteas in on a good wicket, a decision that backfired badly for the hosts.

Quinton de Kock made only 2, but his opening partner Hashim Amla was in fine nick, and the veteran along with Hendricks took the score to 100 in the 16th over.

Sri Lanka got Amla and skipper Faf du Plessis in quick succession, but JP Duminy, who has been in fine form this season, stitched together a 78 run stand with Hendricks, who was dismissed by a beauty of a delivery from Lahiru Kumara after reaching his century.

Duminy however ensured that Hendricks’ dismissal did not affect South Africa’s momentum, and the Proteas plundered 114 runs in the final ten overs as Sri Lanka’s bowling fell apart at the death.

The Lankans were always going to be up against it, and although several of their batsmen got starts, nobody really pushed on. The seventh wicket partnership between Dhananjaya de Silva and Akila Dananjaya briefly raised hopes of a stunning upset, but once De Silva was caught behind by De Kock (an excellent review from stand in skipper QDK, who took over the reigns after Faf du Plessis injured his shoulder), those hopes faded, with the home side eventually bowled out for 285.

For most of their innings, Sri Lanka were ahead of South Africa’s score at the corresponding stage, but lack of wickets put paid to their aspirations.

The fourth ODI will again be held in Pallekelle (August 8)

South Africa (363/7) beat Sri Lanka 285 all out (MOTM Hendricks)