India vs Zimbabwe First T20I July 6 Harare Match Report 2024

Sikandar Raza and Tendai Chatara claimed three wickets each as Zimbabwe stunned India by 13 runs in the first T20I of the five-match series in Harare on Saturday.

After being asked to bat first, Mukesh Kumar got India off to a fine start by cleaning up Innocent Kaia for a duck in the second over.

The pair of Wesley Madhevere and Brian Bennett steadied the ship by adding 34 runs for the second wicket stand before Ravi Bishnoi struck twice by dismissing both the well set batsman for 22 & 21 respectively.

Skipper Sikandar Raza’s wicket triggered collapse as the hosts slumped to 90/9. However some handy contribution from Clive Madande (29) in the end helped the home side reach 115/9 in their 20 overs.

In response, India got off to a poor start as Abhishek Sharma fell for a duck as he top edged a pull off Brian Bennett. Ruturaj Gaikwad (7) then was caught at slip by Innocent Kaia off Blessing Muzarabani.

Tendai Chatara then claimed wickets off Riyan Parag (2) and Rinku Singh (0). Skipper Raza then struck a body blow by knocking over the opposition skipper Gill for 31 as the visitors slumped to 47/6.

Washington Sundar scored a valiant (27), but it was not enough, as Zimbabwe pulled off a 13 run win.

Zimbabwe 115 for 9 (Madande 29*, Bishnoi 4-13) beat India 102 (Gill 31, Chatara 3-16, Raza 3-25) by 13 runs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *