India vs South Africa Second T-20I Cuttack 12 June Match Report 2022

Heinrich Klaasen scored a splendid 81, as South Africa beat India by four wickets at the Barabati Stadium in Cuttack on Sunday.

After being asked to bat first by South Africa skipper Temba Bavuma, India got off to a poor start as Ruturaj Gaikwad (1) sliced a drive off Kagiso Rabada to Keshav Maharaj at backward point.

The pair of Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer stitched together a 45 run stand for the second wicket before the former miscued a pull off Anrich Nortje to Van Der Dussen at deep square leg for 34.

Skipper Rishabh Pant (5) fell cheaply slicing at a wide delivery from Keshav Maharaj to Dussen at deep point.

Wayne Parnell then got into the act by cleaning up Hardik Pandya (9), while trying to cut.

Shreyas Iyer scored a fine 40, before nicking a slower leg-cutter from Dwaine Pretorius to Klaasen behind the stumps.

Nortje claimed his second wicket by knocking over Axar Patel (10) with a pacy delivery.

Dinesh Karthik (30*) and Harshal Patel (12*) provided a late flourish in the end to take the hosts to a competitive score of 148/6 in their allotted 20 overs.

For South Africa, Anrich Nortje was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 2/36.

Chasing 149, Bhuvneshwar Kumar got India off to a fine start by cleaning up Reeza Hendricks (4) in the first over.

Pretorius (4) who was sent in again at No 3, miscued a slower delivery from Bhuvneshwar to Avesh Khan at backward square leg.

Kumar claimed his third wicket by dismissing Van der Dussen bowled, leaving the visitors in trouble at 29/3.

Skipper Bavuma along with Klaasen featured in a 64 run stand for the fourth wicket before Yuzvendra Chahal provided the breakthrough by dismissing the former bowled for 35.

The Proteas wicket keeper batsman was involved in yet another valuable 51 run stand for the fifth wicket alongside David Miller.

With 34 requiring off 30 balls, the 31 year old Klaasen combined with Miller turned the game in the favour of visitors by smashing Chahal for 23 runs in the 16th over.

However Klaasen’s blistering 46 ball-81 ended, as he caught at long on by substitute fielder Ravi Bishnoi off Harshal Patel. His innings comprised off seven fours and five sixes.

Bhuvneshwar then claimed his fourth wicket by dismissing Wayne Parnell for 1. Miller then scored the winning runs as the visitors overhauled the target of 149 in 18.2 overs.

With this victory, South Africa take a 2-0 lead in the five match series.

The third T20 international will be played at Visakhapatam on 14 June, Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *