Delhi Capitals vs Punjab Kings May 16 DY Patil Stadium Match Report 2022

Mitchell Marsh scored a breezy 63 as The Delhi Capitals kept their playoffs hopes alive by defeating the Punjab Kings by 17 runs at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on Monday.

After being asked to bat first by PBKS skipper, Liam Livingstone got Punjab off to a great start by dismissing the in form David Warner off the very first delivery for a golden duck.

Sarfaraz Khan and Marsh featured in a 51 run stand for the second wicket before the former miscued a slower bowl from Arshdeep Singh to Rahul Chahar for a 16 ball-32.

Arshdeep then claimed his second wicket by dismissing Lalit Yadav (24), caught at backward point by Bhanuka Rajapaksa.

Livingstone pegged Delhi back with wickets of skipper Rishabh Pant and Rovman Powell, leaving them in trouble at 112/5.

Australian all rounder Marsh scored a 48 ball-63 to take DC to a competitive total of 159/7 in 20 overs.

For Punjab, Liam Livingstone and Arshdeep Singh claimed three wickets each.

Chasing 160, Punjab opening pair of Jonny Bairstow and Shikhar Dhawan got their side off to a flying start. The duo added 38 runs for the first wicket before the former (28) top edged a short ball from Anrich Nortje to Axar Patel at deep square leg.

Shardul Thakur then struck twice- first by dismissing Bhanuka Rajapaksa and then claiming Shikhar Dhawan for 4 & 19 respectively.

Mayank Agarwal’s poor run with the bat continued, as he was bowled by Axar Patel while trying to cut. Kuldeep Yadav then got into the act by dismissing Liam Livingstone and Harpreet Brar, as PBKS slumped to 67/6.

Jitesh Sharma and Rahul Chahar added 41 runs for the eight wicket before the former (44) fell to brilliant catch by Warner diving forward at long off.

In the end, Punjab Kings eventually ended up with 142/9, thereby losing the contest by 17 runs.

Shardul Thakur was the pick of the bowlers for Delhi with figures of 4/36, while Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel claimed 2 wickets each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.