Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders April 10 Brabourne Stadium Mumbai Match Report 2022

Prithvi Shaw and David Warner scored fine half centuries as the Delhi Capitals defeated the Kolkata Knight Riders by 44 runs at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday.

KKR VS DC Line Ups IPL 2022 (1)

After being sent into bat by KKR skipper, openers Shaw and Warner got Delhi off to a blazing start. The pair added 93 runs for the opening wicket before the former was bowled through the gate for a brilliant 51. His knock came off 29 balls with 7 fours and 2 sixes.

DC skipper Rishabh Pant who promoted himself at No 3, featured in a 55 run stand for the second wicket alongside Warner, before Andre Russell broke the stand by dismissing Pant caught at third man by Umesh Yadav for a 14 ball-27.

Sunil Narine pegged Delhi back with wickets of Lalit Yadav (1) and Rovman Powell (8) respectively. The well set Warner was then dismissed by Umesh Yadav for 61, as the Capitals were reduced to 166/5.

Axar Patel and Shardul Thakur struck some lusty blows towards the end to take DC to a mammoth score of 215/5 in their allotted 20 overs.

Chasing 216, Venkatesh Iyer set the tone for Kolkata by scoring a 8 ball-18 before falling to Khaleel Ahmed, caught at deep square leg by Axar Patel.

Rahane’s poor run with the bat continued as he fell to an excellent running catch by Shardul Thakur off Ahmed.

Shreyas Iyer and Nitish Rana added 69 runs for the third wicket before the latter was caught at long on by Shaw off Lali Yadav.

Shreyas looked good in his knock of 54, before being stumped by Kuldeep Yadav’s googly.

The left-arm spinner derailed KKR’s chase with wickets of Pat Cummins, Sunil Narine and Umesh Yadav in the 16th over.

Shardul Thakur then claimed Andre Russell (24) and Rasikh Salam (7) in the final over, as Kolkata were bowled out for 171, giving Delhi a comprehensive win.

Kuldeep Yadav was declared the Player of the match for his impressive figures of 4/35.

Delhi Capitals 215 for 5 (Warner 61, Shaw 51, Narine 2-21) beat Kolkata Knight Riders 171 all out (Shreyas Iyer 54, Kuldeep 4-35, Khaleel 3-25) by 44 runs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *