Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore March 29 Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune Match Report 2022

Sanju Samson lead from the front by scoring a quickfire fifty, as Rajasthan Royals defeated the Sunrisers Hyderabad by 61 runs at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune on Tuesday.

After being asked to bat first by Sunrisers skipper Kane Williamson, Rajasthan could have had Jos Buttler twice, but the England wicket keeper batsman survived as it turned out to be no ball on both the occasions.

Buttler got into the groove by smashing Umran Malik for 21 runs in the fourth over. The opening stand of 58 was broken when Yashasvi Jaiswal (20) holed out to deep square leg by Aiden Markram off Romario Shepherd.

Malik then finally dismissed the dangerous Buttler as he nicked one behind the stumps for 35.

The pair of Samson along with Devdutt Padikkal featured in a 73 run stand for the third wicket before the latter was castled by the 23 year old Malik for a 29 ball-41.

Skipper Samson smashed a 27 ball-55, before being dismissed by Bhuvneshwar. Shimron Hetmyer in the end provided a late flourish by smashing a breezy 32 off just 13 deliveries, to take Rajasthan to a mammoth total of 210/6 in their allotted 20 overs.

For Hyderabad, Umran Malik and T Natarajan claimed 2 wickets each.

Chasing 211, Prasidh Krishna and Trent Boult put Sunrisers on the backfoot by dismissing Kane Williamson (2), Rahul Tripathi (0) and Nicholas Pooran (0) in quick succession.

Yuzvendra Chahal then got into the act by claiming the wickets of Abhishek Sharma and Abdul Samad to leave SRH reeling at 37/5.

The pair of Aiden Markram and Romario Shepherd stabilized the innings with a 41 run stand for the sixth wicket before the latter was bowled by Chahal for 24.

Washington Sundar came in and smashed a 14 ball-40 before falling to Boult. His knock comprised off 5 fours and 2 sixes.

Markram remained unbeaten on 57, as the Sunrisers managed 149/7 in 20 overs.

For RR, Yuzvendra Chahal claimed 3/22, while Prasidh Krishna and Trent Boult bagged 2 wickets each.

Rajasthan skipper Sanju Samson was declared the Man of the Match for his masterful knock.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *