India Women vs Pakistan Women 6 March Mount Maunganui ICC Women’s World Cup 2022

Pooja Vastrakar’s brilliant 67 followed by a brilliant bowling performance of 4/31 by Rajeshwari Gayakwad, as India continued their domination by defeating the arch rivals Pakistan by 107 runs at Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui on Sunday.

After winning the toss and electing to bat first, India Women lost Shafali Verma early for a duck. Smriti Mandhana, and Deepti Sharma added 92 runs for the second wicket before the latter was dismissed by Nashra Sandhu for 40.

Diana Baig then claimed the prize scalp of the well set Smriti for a fine 52. The likes of Harmanpreet Kaur, Richa Gosh and Mithali Raj fell cheaply as India slumped to 114/6.

The pair of Sneh Rana and Pooja Vastrakar featured in a crucial 122 run stand for the seventh wicket before the latter was bowled by Fatima Sana for a 59 ball-67.

Rana stayed unbeaten on 53, as India posted a competitive score of 244/7 in their allotted 50 overs.

In response Pakistan Women openers Sidra Ameen and Javeria Khan got their side of to a solid start. The duo added 28 runs for the opening stand before the latter was caught at mid on by Jhulan Goswami off Rajeshwari Gayakwad.

Left arm spinner Gayakwad (4/31) wrecked the middle and lower order as Pakistan were bundled out for 137 in 43 overs. Jhulan Goswami and Sneh Rana also bagged two wickets each.

With this victory, India defeated Pakistan for the 11th time in the ongoing ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup.

Pooja Vastrakar was declared the Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *