India vs Sri Lanka Third T20I Dharamsala Match Report 2022

Shreyas Iyer scored a brilliant unbeaten 73 as India defeated Sri Lanka by six wickets in the third T20 international in Dharamsala on Sunday.

After winning the toss and electing to bat first, the Lankans started disastrously by losing Danushka Gunathilaka for a golden duck as he dragged a short ball from Mohammed Siraj onto the stumps.

Avesh Khan then claimed the wickets of Pathum Nissanka and Charith Asalanka as the visitors slumped to 11/3. Ravi Bishnoi then cleaned up Janith Liyanage for 9.

Dinesh Chandimal along with Dasun Shanaka added 31 runs for the fifth wicket stand before the former (22) was dismissed by Harshal Patel.

Shanaka scored a quickfire unbeaten 74 to take Sri Lanka to a competitive score of 146/5 in their allotted 20 overs.

For India, Avesh Khan was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 2/23.

Chasing 147, India lost skipper Rohit Sharma early in the second over off Dushmantha Chameera for 5.

Sanju Samson who opened in place of Ishan Kishan fell for 18, edging a length delivery outside off from Chamika Karunaratne to keeper Chandimal behind the stumps.

Deepak Hooda who was promoted at No 4 scored a 16 ball-21 before being bowled by a brilliant yorker by Lahiru Kumara.

Venkatesh Iyer was dismissed for 5 as he dragged a short delivery from Kumara to Jayawickrama at deep square leg.

Shreyas Iyer (73)* and Ravindra Jadeja (22)* shared an unbeaten 45 run stand as India reached the target of 147 with 19 balls to spare.

Lahiru Kumara was the pick of the bowlers for Sri Lanka with figures of 2/39.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *