India One Day Squad for South Africa Tour 2022| Venkatesh Iyer receives maiden ODI call up.

The BCCI on Friday announced a 18 member squad for the upcoming three match ODI series against South Africa beginning January 19.

KL Rahul will be leading the ODI side in the absence of regular skipper Rohit Sharma who failed to recover from the hamstring injury. Star bowler Jasprit Bumrah has been appointed as Rahul’s deputy.

The three one day internationals between South Africa and India will be played between January 19 and 23. The first two matches will take place at the Boland Park in Paarl, while the third and final ODI will be played at Newlands Capetown.

The likes of Ruturaj Gaikwad and Venkatesh Iyer were rewarded for their domestic and IPL performances. Washington Sundar, who missed the T20 World Cup due to injury returns to the squad.

Fast bowler Mohammed Shami has been rested, while all rounders Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel were unavailable for selection due to injuries.


Navdeep Saini and Jayant Yadav have been added to the ODI squad for the upcoming one day series against South Africa beginning January 19.

Saini comes in as a back-up for injured Mohammed Siraj, while Jayant replaces Washington Sundar who was ruled out after testing positive for Covid 19.

India’s ODI squad for the South Africa series

KL Rahul (capt), Jasprit Bumrah (vice-capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Jayant Yadav & Navdeep Saini

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *