Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals October 2 Sharjah Match Report 2021

Shreyas Iyer and Ravi Ashwin remained unbeaten on 33 & 20 respectively as Delhi Capitals defeated the Mumbai Indians by four wickets at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Saturday.

After being asked to bat first by DC skipper, MI got off to a disastrous start by losing Rohit Sharma as he sliced an Avesh Khan delivery straight to Kagiso Rabada at third man.

Axar Patel then got into the act by dismissing Quinton de Kock caught at point for 19.

Suryakumar Yadav along with Saurabh Tiwary added 31 runs for the third wicket before the former hit a low full toss from Axar to Rabada at long on for 33.

Patel then claimed his third wicket by dismissing Tiwary for 15. Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya failed to get going leaving Mumbai in trouble at 109/6.

Krunal Pandya and Jayant Yadav scored some handy runs towards the end to take their side to 129/8 in their allotted 20 overs.

For Delhi Capitals Avesh Khan and Axar Patel claimed 3 wickets each.


Chasing 130, Delhi lost Shikhar Dhawan early, to a direct hit by Kieron Pollard at mid on.

Prithvi Shaw (6) and Steve Smith (9) were dismissed by Krunal Pandya and Nathan Coulter-Nile to reduce DC to 30/3.

Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant put on 27 runs for the fourth wicket before Jayant Yadav claimed the prize scalp by dismissing Pant caught at long on by Hardik for 26.

Axar Patel who was promoted up the order was trapped leg before wicket by Trent Boult for 9.

Jasprit Bumrah brought Mumbai back into the contest by dismissing Shimron Hetmyer, leaving DC in a trouble at 93/6.

However Shreyas Iyer and Ravichandran Ashwin held their nerve with an unbeaten 39 run stand for the seventh wicket as DC reached the target of 130 with 5 balls to spare.

Axar Patel was declared the Player of the Match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *