West Indies vs Australia Fifth T-20 Match Report 2021

Evin Lewis scored a swashbuckling 79, as West Indies defeated Australia by 16 runs in the fifth T-20 international on Friday.

West Indies made a solitary change in the playing XI with Darren Bravo replacing Akeal Hosein, while Australia made 4 changes with Hazlewood, Swepson, Philippe and Tye coming in place of Starc, Christian, Turner and Meredith.

After winning the toss and electing to bat first, West Indies pair of Andre Fletcher and Evin Lewis got their team off to a quickfire start. The duo added 40 runs for the opening wicket before Adam Zampa broke the stand by dismissing Fletcher bowled for 12.

Chris Gayle after scoring a breezy 7 ball-21 fell to Mitchell Swepson. Mitchell Marsh then got into the act by dismissing the dangerous Lewis caught by substitute NT Ellis for an entertaining 34 ball-79. His innings comprised off 4 fours and 9 sixes.

Andrew Tye pegged the Windies back by claiming the wickets of Andre Russell, Nicholas Pooran and Darren Bravo.

West Indies in the end posted 199/8 after 20 overs. Andrew Tye was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 3/27, while Marsh claimed 2 wickets.

Chasing 200, Australia started badly by losing Josh Philippe in the very first over to Sheldon Cottrell. Mitchell Marsh smashed 30 off 15 balls before he was caught and bowled by Andre Russell.

Aaron Finch and Moises Henriques steadied the ship with a solid 49 run stand for the third wicket before the former was caught brilliantly by Fabian Allen off Hayden Walsh in the tenth over. Henriques was run out in the same over as the Australians were reduced to 100/4.

Cottrell was impressive in the death-overs and accounted for the wickets of Andrew Tye and Jason Behrendoff. Australia eventually ended up with 183/9 at the end of their allotted 20 overs.

West Indies won the T20I series 4-1. Hayden Walsh was declared the Player of the Series for his impressive bowling performances and Lewis was adjudged the Man of the Match.

The focus now shifts to the ODI’S where the first of the three one dayers will be played at Kensington Oval in Barbados on 21 July.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *