India vs England Fifth T-20 Ahmedabad Match Report 2021

Skipper Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma scored blistering half centuries as India defeated England by 36 runs in the final T-20 international at the Narendra Modi Stadium on Thursday.

The visitors went in with an unchanged XI, while the home side dropped out of form KL Rahul and included T Natarajan.

India vs England fifth T-20 Line ups 2021 (1)

After being sent into bat by England skipper Eoin Morgan, India’s new opening pair of Kohli and Sharma got their team off to a fantastic start by adding 94 runs for the opening wicket. Ben Stokes finally broke the stand by dismissing the latter for an entertaining 64. His knock came off 34 balls with 4 fours and five sixes.

Kohli along with Suryakumar Yadav then stitched together a solid 49 run stand for the second wicket before the latter fell to a brilliant catch at the boundary by the duo of Chris Jordan and Jason Roy off Adil Rashid for a quickfire 32.

The Indian skipper and Hardik Pandya were involved in an unbeaten 81 run stand for the third wicket as the home side ended up with a mammoth total of 224/2 at the end of 20 overs. The hosts scored 67 runs in the last five overs

Kohli remained unbeaten on 80 off 52 balls with 7 fours and 2 sixes while Hardik was not out on 39.

Chasing 225, Bhuvneshwar Kumar dealt England a big blow by dismissing Jason Roy for a second ball duck.

Jos Buttler along with Dawid Malan put on 130 runs for the second wicket before the former was dismissed, with Kumar again the wicket taker, for an entertaining 52.

Shardul Thakur then claimed the crucial wickets of Jonny Bairstow and Malan in quick succession to peg the visitors further.

Skipper Morgan and all rounder Ben Stokes bot failed to get going, as the visitors ended up with 188/8 at the end of 20 overs.

Thakur picked up 3 wickets, while Bhuvneshwar conceded just 15 runs in his four overs, also picking up two wickets in the process.

Bhuvneshwar was awarded the Man of the match, while skipper Kohli was declared the Player of the series.

The focus now shifts to the ODI’s, where the first of the three one dayers will be played on March 23.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *