Mumbai Indians vs Kings XI Punjab 1 October Match Report 2020

Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma led from the front by scoring a brilliant 70, as Mumbai Indians comfortably defeated the Kings XI Punjab by 48 runs in Abu Dhabi on Thursday.

After being asked to bat first by KXIP skipper, MI lost Quinton de Kock for a duck in the first over to a beauty of a delivery from Sheldon Cottrell.

Three over later, Suryakumar Yadav was run out by Shami after going for a quick single for 10.

Rohit Sharma along with Ishan Kishan anchored the innings with a 62 run stand for the third wicket, before Ishan was caught by Karun Nair off Krishnappa Gowtham.

Rohit brought up his half century in just 40 balls and then took on Jimmy Neesham, by smashing him for two sixes and two fours in the 16th over.

However in the very next over, the star Indian opener was caught brilliantly by Neesham off Shami for an entertaining 70. His knock came off just 45 deliveries with eight fours and three sixes.

Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya bludgeoned the KXIP bowlers by scoring 104 in the last 6 overs, including 25 runs of Gowtham in the final over to take Mumbai to 191/4 at the end of 20 overs.

Mumbai Indians vs Kings Xi Punjab

Sheldon Cottrell was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 1/20.

Chasing 192, KXIP got off to a quick start with KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal adding 38 runs for the opening wicket, before ace bowler Jasprit Bumrah castled the in form Mayank for 25.

Five balls later, Karun Nair chopped a Krunal Pandya delivery onto his stumps.

Rahul in the company of Nicholas Pooran added 21 runs, before Rahul Chahar broke through by dismissing the Punjab skipper for 17.

Nicholas Pooran looked in supreme touch by smashing sixes off Krunal Pandya and Chahar, before James Pattinson dismissed him in the 14th over for a breezy 44 off 27 balls.

Glenn Maxwell (11), James Neesham (7) and Sarfaraz Khan (7) failed to provide the finishing touches in the end, as Kings XI Punjab ended up with 143/8 at the end of 20 overs, giving Mumbai a a convincing 48 run win.

Pattinson, Jasprit Bumrah and Rahul Chahar got two wickets each, while Krunal Pandya and Trent Boult claimed a wicket each.

Kieron Pollard was declared the Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *