Rajasthan Royals vs Kings XI Punjab 27 September Match Report 2020

Rahul Tewatia produced a magical innings by scoring a quickfire 53, as Rajasthan Royals snatched victory from the jaws of defeat by registering a four wicket win over Kings XI Punjab at Sharjah on Sunday.

After being sent into bat by Steve Smith, Kings XI Punjab opening duo of KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal got their team off to electrifying start by adding 183 runs for the opening stand, which was the second highest in the IPL.

The former after reaching his maiden hundred, was caught at deep mid wicket by Samson off Tom Curran. His knock of 106 runs came of just 50 balls with seven sixes and 10 fours.

In the next over, Rahul while trying to up the scoring rate was bagged by Ankit Rajpoot for a fine 69.

Nicholas Pooran breezy 25 off 8 balls in the end guided their side to 223/2 at the end of their allotted 20 overs.

Chasing 224 for victory, Rajasthan got off to a shaky start, losing the dangerous Jos Buttler for 4 to Sheldon Cottrell.

Skipper Steve Smith joined hands with Sanju Samson as the pair added 81 runs for the second wicket. Smith after reaching his 50 was caught at deep point by Mohammed Shami off James Neesham.

Rahul Tewatia who was surprisingly promoted to No 4 ahead of Robin Uthappa struggled with his timings and placement intially, which put pressure on young Sanju Samson.

Samson after smashing Glenn Maxwell for three sixes, departed in the next over to Mohammed Shami for an entertaining 85 off 42 balls.

Sanju Samson

With 51 runs requiring off 18 balls, the 27 year old Tewatia held his nerve and smashed Cottrell for five sixes to bring the equation in favour of Rajasthan Royals.

With two needed off the last over, Riyan Parag after blocking the first ball was bowled by Murugan Ashwin off the very next delivery.

Tom Curran came and smashed a boundary off the third delivery, as RR pulled of a stunning 4 wicket win over KXIP.

Mohammed Shami was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 3/53, while M Ashwin, James Neesham and Sheldon Cottrell claimed a wicket each.

Sanju Samson was declared the Man of the Match.

The 10th match of the Indian Premier League would be featuring Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore on 28 September, Monday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *