India’s Test Record at Sydney against Australia

Here is Team India’s Test record against Australia at Sydney ahead of the fourth and final test at the SCG on Thursday.

Historically the SCG hasn’t been a very happy hunting ground for India- they’ve won only once, and that was in 1978 against a second-string Australian team wrecked by Kerry Packer’s World Series of Cricket. Bishan Singh Bedi and BS Chandrashekhar made merry on the opening day after Australia had chosen to bat first, with the hosts dismissed inside 50 overs, managing just 131.

In reply, India made 396/8, with contributions from literally every batsman. Only one of the top eight failed to cross double digits and as many as six of them scored over 40. The runs came at a fair clip for that era as well, with the visitors scoring at nearly 3 an over.

India’s spinners again did all the damage in the second innings, with Gary Cosier and Peter Toohey the only Australian batsman to stand up to them. The duo made half centuries, but coudn’t stop their side from slumping to an innings defeat. Prasanna took 4 while Bedi, Chandrasekhar and Ghavri took two apiece.

The 1978 test was also the last one in India colours for Ashok Mankad, the talented son of the legendary Vinoo. Ashok was a decent player in his own right, but only played 22 tests for India, spread over a decade as well.

The SCG has seen India manage to draw five tests as well. They did so on their last trip here- a run fest back in 2015 that saw over 1500 runs being scored across four innings before both captains agreed to shake hands.

India lead 2-1 going into this test at the SCG. Avoiding defeat will mean this Indian team will become the first from their country to win a test series Down Under. All tests at this venue between India and Australia, bar the one in 1947, have always been played in the month of January, and this one is no exception.

12 December 1947Match Drawn
26 January 1968Australia won by 144 runs
7 January 1978 India won by innings & 2 runs.
2 January 1981 Australia won by innings & 4 runs
2 January 1986 Match Drawn
2 January 1992 Match Drawn
2 January 2000 Australia won by innings & 141 runs
2 January 2004Match Drawn
2 January 2008Australia won by 122 runs.
3 January 2012 Australia won by innings & 68 runs
6 January 2015 Match Drawn
3 January 2018Match Drawn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *