India vs West Indies Second T20 Match Report Lucknow 2018

Rohit Sharma scored a sparkling century as India defeated the West Indies by 71 runs in the second T20 international at Lucknow on Tuesday.

After being sent into bat by the opposition skipper Carlos Brathwaite, the opening pair of Rohit and Shikhar Dhawan were watchful at the beginning, and then hit their straps, adding 123 runs for the first wicket before Dhawan fell for 43. The left handed attempted to slog sweep but was caught by Nicholas Pooran at the long leg boundary off Fabian Allen.

Dhawan had earlier been given a life when he was dropped by Keemo Paul, but he failed to kick on.

Dashing wicket keeper batsman Rishabh Pant, who was promoted at No 3 failed for the second time in this series.

Rohit and KL Rahul (26)* then added a quickfire 62 run stand for the third wicket to take the Men in Blue within touching distance of the 200 run mark.

The Mumbai Indians skipper remained unbeaten on 111 of just 61 runs. His innings comprised of 8 fours and 7 sixes and was a festive present to the crowd in the UP capital, which was hosting an international after 24 years.

In the process, Sharma surpassed star batsman Virat Kohli to become the highest scorer in the shortest format of the game.

Most Runs For India in T-20

India finished with a total of 195/2 in their allotted 20 overs.

Chasing a target of 196, West Indies got of to a worst possible start, as they lost the wickets of Shai Hope and Shimron Hetmyer early to Khaleel Ahmed.

The Windies sunk further after Darren Bravo was superbly caught at slip by Rohit at nd debutant Nicholas Pooran was then foxed by a wrong’un from Kuldeep as they slipped to 52/4,

Jasprit Bumrah then got into the act by claiming his Mumbai Indians team mate Kieron Pollard, who was caught and bowled for 6 runs.

Keemo Paul provided some lusty hits at the end, but it was only mere consolation, with the Windies finishing on 124/9. At one stage it appeared that they might not even be able to surpass Rohit’s individual score of 111, but Carlos Braithwaite and Paul dragged them past that mark.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed and Kuldeep Yadav all claimed 2 wickets each.

Sharma, as one would expect, was declared the Man of the Match.

Rohit Sharma

India now lead the 3 match T-20 series 2-0. The third and final T20 international will be played at Chennai on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *