India vs Bangladesh T-20 Final Match Report-2018

Bangladesh almost broke their T20 magic against India in the Nidahas Trophy T20 tri-series final on Sunday.

After being sent in to bat by Rohit Sharma, Bangladesh were undone by both the spinners in the powerplay as they were left reeling at 40/3.

Sabbir Rahman and Mahmudullah steadied the Bangladesh innings, and took their team to a modest total of 166 runs.

After being set a target of 167 runs, India made a resounding start with Rohit Sharma starting aggressively with two sixes and a four off Mehedi Hasan.

Bangladesh fought back by getting rid of the inform Shikhar Dhawan (29) and Suresh Raina (0).

Rohit was joined by KL Rahul and the pair steadied the innings and put on a partnership of 51 runs with Rahul miscuing a pull to Sabbir Rahman at deep square leg.

With Rahul’s dismissal, Bangladesh bowled tightly and put a lid on the scoring, by not conceding a single boundary of the next 29 balls with the stand in skipper targeting Nazmul Hasan with a four and six to close in on his milestone.

Rohit Sharma fell to Nazmul for 56 runs and their players did the Naagin dance sensing a stunning win.

Sabbir’s (77) runs went in vain as India made it 8-0 in T20s against Bangladesh.

India in the final 2 overs required 34 runs to win, and it looked like they would crumble, following Manish Pandey’s dismissal.

Dinesh Karthik who was surprisingly came late in the order changed the complexion of the game, by smashing a low full toss over long on for six, followed it up with a another powerful blow to long on for four.

Rubel Hossain was taken for 22 runs in the 19th over to keep India’s hopes alive.

Soumya Sarkar was given the final over, and he did reasonably well by not conceding any run in the first two balls, but Vijay Shankar squeezed a boundary off the fourth ball but fell in the very next ball, as India were left needing five off the last ball.

Dinesh Karthik kept his nerve and smashed a full ball over covers for his third six to seal the match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *