India U-19 vs Australia U-19 World Cup Match Report-2018

Manjot Kalra scored a superb century as India defeated Australia by eight wickets to win the ICC Under-19 cricket World Cup title for the fourth time

Australia Skipper Jason Sangha won the toss and elected to bat first. The openers were sent back by Ishan Porel. Apart from Jonathan Merlo’s 76 runs none of the other batsman got going and fell like a pack of cards. Australia’s last 6 wickets fell for 33 runs.

Indians got off to a decent start, but there was a short rain delay. That didnt stop their progress as Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill and Harvik Desai provided good support to Manjot Kalra which helped them ease past Australia’s score of 217 that was set by them.

Gill was awarded Man of the Tournament, while Kalra was given the Man of the Match Award.

This was India’s second highest chase in the Under-19 World Cup, behind the 226 they scored six years ago to beat Australia in Townsville in 2012.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *