India vs Netherlands Bengaluru 12 November World Cup Match Report 2023

Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul scored fantastic centuries as India thumped Netherlands by 160 runs at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Sunday.

After winning the toss and choosing to bat first, openers Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill got India off to a electrifying start. The pair added 100 runs for the first wicket before the latter fell to a brilliant catch by Teja Nidamanuru in the boundary line off Paul van Meekeren for 51.

Rohit (61) was caught at long on by Wesley Barresi while trying to take on Bas de Leede. The pair of Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer added 71 runs for the third wicket before the former was bowled by Roelof van der Merwe after missing one that skidded on for 51.

Shreyas featured in yet another superb 208 run stand for the fourth wicket alongside KL Rahul. Rahul scored 100 off just 62 balls, beating Rohit Sharma’s 63-ball record against Afghanistan in Delhi earlier in this tournament. The Men in Blue posted a mammoth score of 410/4 in their 50 overs.

In response, Mohammed Siraj provided an early breakthrough by dismissing Wesley Barresi (4) caught behind the stumps by wicket keeper Rahul.

Colin Ackermann (35) and Max O’Dowd (30) featured in a 61-run stand for the second wicket before Ackermann perished to Kuldeep Yadav while attempting a sweep.

Ravindra Jadeja then produced a peach off a delivery to dismiss O’Dowd for 30.

Netherlands skipper Scott Edwards (17) became Kohli’s victim as he was caught down leg by KL Rahul behind the stumps/

Jasprit Bumrah then bowled a brilliant yorker by dismissing Bas de Leede (12) .

Teja Nidamanuru (54) provided some resistance by scoring a breezy 39 ball-54, before being dismissed by Rohit while attempting a big hit. The Dutch were eventually bowled out for 250 in 47.5 overs.

With this win, The Men in Blue finished unbeaten in the league stage.

India 410 for 4 (Shreyas 128*, Rahul 102, Rohit 61, Kohli 51, Gill 51) beat Netherlands 250 (Nidamanuru 54, Engelbrecht 45, Siraj 2-29, Bumrah 2-33, Kuldeep 2-41, Jadeja 2-49) by 160 runs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *