India vs New Zealand Dharamsala 22 October Match Report 2023

Mohammed Shami claimed figures of 5/54 and Virat Kohli scored a fine 95 as India registered their fifth successive win by defeating New Zealand by four wickets at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamsala on Sunday.

After being asked to bat first, Mohammed Siraj drew first blood by dismissing Devon Conway, who fell to a brilliant catch by Shreyas Iyer for a duck.

Shami then cleaned up Will Young for 17. The pair of Rachin Ravindra along with Daryl Mitchell added 159 runs for the third wicket stand. Ravindra got a reprieve when Ravi Jadeja dropped a sitter at backward point off Shami. The stand finally ended when Rachin was caught at long-on by Shubman Gill for 75.

The Black Caps lost their way as Kuldeep Yadav trapped Tom Latham (5) leg before wicket and then had Glenn Phillips (23) caught off a full and wide delivery.

The 33 year old Shami then dismissed both Mitchell Santner (1) and Henry (0) off consecutive deliveries. The right arm pacer then claimed a well deserved five- fer by dismissing centurion Mitchell in the final over of the innings. The visitors lost seven wickets for 68 runs as they were bowled out for 273 in their allotted 50 overs.

Chasing 274, openers Rohit Sharma along with Shubman Gill got hosts off to a fine start. The duo put on 71 runs for the opening stand. However both openers fell in quick succession as they were reduced to 76/2.

Virat Kohli along with Shreyas Iyer stitched together a 52 run stand for the third wicket before the latter fell to a short delivery from Trent Boult for 33.

Mitchell Santner brought New Zealand back into the contest by trapping Rahul for 27. Suryakumar Yadav (2) was then run out following a horrible mix up with Kohli leaving their side in spot of bother at 191/5.

All rounder Ravindra Jadeja batting for the first time in the tournament added 78 valuable runs for the sixth wicket alongside Kohli before the latter (95) while attempting a six was caught at midwicket boundary by Glenn Phillips.

Jadeja hit the winning runs by pulling Matt Henry for boundary as the Men in Blue reached the target with 12 balls to spare.

India 274 for 6 (Kohli 95, Rohit 46, Jadeja 39*, Ferguson 2-63) beat New Zealand 273 (Mitchell 130, Ravindra 75, Shami 5-54, Kuldeep 2-73) by four wickets

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *