India vs New Zealand Third T20 International Ahmedabad Match Report 2023

Shubman Gill notched up his maiden T20I hundred as India thumped New Zealand by 168 runs in the third and the final T20 international at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Wednesday.

Three Centuries

After winning the toss and electing to bat first, India were rocked early as Michael Bracewell trapped Ishan Kishan (1) leg before wicket in the second over.

The pair of Gill along with Rahul Tripathi added 80 runs for the second wicket stand before the latter pulled an Ish Sodhi delivery to Lockie Ferguson at deep square leg for a breezy 44.

Suryakumar Yadav scored a 13 ball-24 before perishing to Blair Tickner, caught at mid on by Bracewell. Skipper Hardik Pandya joined in and added 103 runs for the fourth wicket alongside Gill before the former was dismissed by Daryl Mitchell in the final over fora 17 ball-30.

The young opener reached his hundred in style by smashing Ferguson for a four over wide mid on, as the Men Blue ended up with a massive total of 234/4 in their allotted 20 overs.

Chasing 235, New Zealand were rocked early as Finn Allen fell to a brilliant catch at slip by Suryakumar off Hardik Pandya in the very first over.

Arshdeep Singh then got into the act- first by dismissing the in form Devon Conway (1) and then sending back Mark Chapman (0) for 2.

SKY pulled off yet another spectacular catch at slip off Pandya to send back Glenn Phillips, as the visitors slumped to 7/4.

The Black Caps lost half their side for 21, when Umran Malik knocked over the dangerous Bracewell for 8. Pandya and Shivam Mavi decimated the lower order, before Umran Malik wrapped up the innings by dismissing Daryl Mitchell (35) with a short ball, caught in the deep by Mavi.

New Zealand were eventually bundled out for 66 in 12.1 overs, losing the contest by a whopping margin of 168 runs. With this victory, the hosts also clinched the three-match series 2-1.

India 234 for 4 (Gill 126*, Tripathi 44, Pandya 30) beat New Zealand 66 (Mitchell 35, Pandya 4-16, Malik 2-9, Mavi 2-12, Arshdeep 2-16) by 168 runs

Skipper Hardik was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 4/16.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *