India vs New Zealand Third One Day International Indore Match Report 2023

Devon Conway’s magnificent innings of 138 went in vain as New Zealand went down by 90 runs against India in the third and the final one day international at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore on Tuesday.

After being asked to bat first by New Zealand skipper Tom Latham, Indian opening pair of Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill got India off to an electrifying start. The duo added 212 runs for the opening wicket before the former was bowled by Michael Bracewell for a superb 85 ball-101. His knock comprised off 9 fours and 6 sixes. With this century, he equaled Ricky Ponting’s record of 30th ODI century.

Gill continued his sublime form with the bat by scoring yet another brilliant century. He however perished to Blair Tickner for 112. His innings came off just 78 balls with 13 fours and 5 sixes.

India vs New Zealand Third ODI

Ishan Kishan (17) looked a bit rusty during his short stay at the crease before being run out following a terrible mix up with Virat Kohli.

Kohli Kohli scored a 27 ball-36 before being caught at mid off by Fin Allen off Jacob Duffy. The likes of Surya Kumar Yadav and Washington Sundar departed cheaply as the hosts were reduced to 313/6.

However a late flourish from Hardik Pandya (54) and Shardul Thakur (25) propelled India to 385/9 in their allotted 50 overs.

Chasing 386, Pandya drew first blood by dismissing Finn Allen (0) bowled in the very first over. Devon Conway along with Henry Nicholls added 106 runs for the second wicket stand before the latter was trapped leg before wicket by Kuldeep Yadav for 42.

Conway was involved in yet another valuable 78 run stand for the third wicket alongside Daryl Mitchell. However Shardul Thakur brought the hosts back into the contest by dismissing Mitchell and skipper Tom Latham (0) off consecutive deliveries.

Thakur claimed his third wicket by dismissing Glenn Phillips (5) with a short delivery. Young Umran Malik demted the visitors hope by dismissing the well set Devon Conway (138) caught at mid wicket by Rohit Sharma. The lower order couldn’t contribute much, as they were bowled out for 295 in 41.2 overs.

India 385 for 9 (Gill 112, Rohit 101, Pandya 54, Tickner 3-76, Duffy 3-100) beat New Zealand 295 (Conway 138, Nicholls 42, Thakur 3-45, Kuldeep 3-62, Chahal 2-43) by 90 runs

Shardul was named the Player of the Match, while young talented opener Shubman Gill was adjudged the Player of the Series.

With this victory, India completed a 3-0 whitewash and also moved to No.1 in the ICC ODI rankings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *