A rather interesting incident occurred in the Proteas 2022 T20 World Cup game against Zimbabwe at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart earlier today (October 24, 2022).
In the last over of the truncated Zimbabwe innings (9th), Lungi Ngidi threw the ball in from fine leg. Wicket keeper Quinton de Kock had thrown his gloves to the ground in anticipation of a potential run out, but the ball hit those WK gloves in the process and the umpire signalled five penalty runs to Zimbabwe, as it had hit an object intentionally placed on the field of play.
Anrich Nortje also had to bowl an extra ball at the end because of that penalty run delivery, but he got Milton Shumba with that very ball.
Why did Zimbabwe get 5 penalty runs vs SA in T20 World Cup 2022?
Five penalty runs were awarded to Zimbabwe because the ball hit Quinton de Kock’s gloves that he had already thrown to the ground (hitting an object intentionally placed on the field of play)