India vs West Indies First ODI Port of Spain July 22 Match Report 2022

Skipper Shikhar Dhawan led from the front by scoring a fine 97, as India beat West Indies by three runs in the first one day international at Queen’s Park Oval in Port of Spain, Trinidad on Friday.

After being asked to bat first by West Indies skipper Nicholas Pooran, openers Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill got India off to a fantastic start. The duo added 119 runs for the opening wicket before the latter was run out by a direct hit by Pooran for a well made 64.

Dhawan was involved in yet another solid 94 run stand for the second wicket along side Shreyas Iyer before the former fell to a sensational catch by Shamarh Brooks at backward point off Gudakesh Motie. His knock came off 99 balls with 10 fours and 3 sixes.

Iyer after completing a fine half century, fell to yet another stupendous one handed catch at covers off Motie. The visitors lost wickets of Suryakumar Yadav (13) and Sanju Samson (12) to Akeal Hosein and Romario Shepherd respectively.

The pair of Deepak Hooda and Axar Patel featured in a 42 run stand for the sixth wicket before Alzarri Joseph struck twice- first by dismissing Axar and then claiming Hooda, as the visitors posted 308/7 in their allotted 50 overs.

For West Indies, Alzarri Joseph and Gudakesh Motie claimed 2 wickets each.

Chasing 309, West Indies lost Shai Hope early, top edging a delivery from Mohammed Siraj to Shardul Thakur at deep third man.

Kyle Mayers and Shamarh Brooks were involved in a 117 run stand for the second wicket before the latter pulled a short ball from Shardul Thakur to Iyer at deep backward square leg for 46.

The 30 year old Thakur struck again by dismissing the well set Mayers (75), edging at a full and a wide delivery to wicket keeper Sanju Samson.

Windies skipper Nicholas Pooran and Brandon King added 51 runs for the fourth wicket before Mohammed Siraj broke the partnership as the former (25) mistimed a slog to Prasidh Krishna at mid-on.

Rovman Powell (6) was caught at slips by Hooda off Yuzvendra Chahal, leaving the Windies in trouble at 196/5.

King along with Akeal Hosein put on 56 runs for the sixth wicket before the former holed out to deep extra cover by Iyer off leg spinner Chahal for 54.

The pair of Akeal Hosein and Romario Shepherd brought the hosts back into the contest with an unbeaten 53 run stand for the seventh wicket.

With 27 requiring off 12 balls, Shepherd smashed Prasidh Krishna for a six and a boundary to bring the equation down to 15 off the final over.

However Siraj held his nerve in the final over by conceding just 12 runs, as the visitors took a 1-0 lead in the three match ODI series.

Shikhar Dhawan was adjudged the Player of the Match for his fine knock.

India 308 for 7 (Dhawan 97, Gill 64, Iyer 54, Motie 2-54, Joseph 2-61) beat West Indies 305 for 6 (Mayers 75, King 54, Thakur 2-54, Siraj 2-56) by three runs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *