Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore April 5 Wankhede Stadium Mumbai Match Report 2022

Dinesh Karthik and Shahbaz Ahmed scored fine cameos as Royal Challengers Bangalore pulled off a thrilling 4 wicket win over the Rajasthan Royals at the Wankhede Stadium on Tuesday.

RCB vs RR Ipl 2022 (1)

After being put into bat, David Willey got RCB off to a great start by cleaning up Yashasvi Jaiswal in the second over for 4.

Jos Buttler who was let off twice by Akash Deep in the seventh over featured in a 70 run stand along with Devdutt Padikkal before the latter miscued a Harshal Patel slower delivery to Virat Kohli, who took a well judged catch.

Sanju Samson (8) fell soon chipping at a Wanindu Hasaranga delivery back to the bowler.

Buttler (70)* along with Shimron Hetmyer (42)* put on an unbeaten 83 run stand for the fourth wicket to take Royals to 169/3 at the end of 20 overs.

Chasing 170, openers Faf du Plessis and Anuj Rawat got Bangalore off to a solid start. The duo added 55 runs for the opening stand before Yuzvendra Chahal broke the partnership by dismissing Du Plessis caught at long on by Trent Boult for 29.

Navdeep Saini then dismissed Anuj caught behind, nicking one behind the stumps for 26.

Royal Challengers lost a bit of momentum with wickets of Virat Kohli and David Willey in consecutive deliveries.

The former (5) was run out following a mix up with Willey. The 32 year old Willey was bowled through the gate by Chahal for a second ball duck.

RCB had lost half their side for 87, when Sherfane Rutherford (5) mistimed a Trent Boult delivery and was caught brilliantly by a diving Saini.

Dinesh Karthik swung the momentum in Royal Challengers favour by smashing Ravichandran Ashwin for 21 runs in the 14th over.

The Tamil Nadu wicket keeper and Shahbaz Ahmed featured in a brilliant 67 run stand for the sixth wicket before the latter was bowled by Boult for a 26 ball-45.

Karthik remained unbeaten on 44 off just 23 balls, as Bangalore overhauled the target with five balls to spare.

For Rajasthan, Trent Boult and Yuzvendra Chahal claimed 2 wickets each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *