Proteas 17 member squad for ODI’S vs India 2022- Marco Jansen receives maiden one day call-up

Cricket South Africa on Sunday announced their 17 man squad for the upcoming one day series against India beginning January 19.

The team will be captained by Temba Bavuma while left arm spinner Keshav Maharaj will be his deputy.

Young seamer Marco Jansen who had an brilliant debut in the first Test at Centurion, has received his maiden ODI call-up. Right arm spearhead Anrich Nortje will miss the one day series due to hip injury.

The likes of Heinrich Klassen, Bjorn Fortuin and Wiaan Mulder have been dropped for the ODI series, while Wayne Parnell, Sisanda Magala, and Zubayr Hamza have been included in the set up.

Quinton de Kock, who recently announced his retirement from Test cricket has also been picked.

South Africa one day squad:

Temba Bavuma (c), Keshav Maharaj (vc), Quinton de Kock, Zubayr Hamza, Marco Jansen, Janneman Malan, Sisanda Magala, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen & Kyle Verreynne.

ODI Series Schedule

19 January, 2022: 1st ODI at Boland Park, Paarl
21 January, 2022: 2nd ODI at Boland Park, Paarl
23 January, 2022: 3rd ODI at Newlands Cricket Ground

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *