India vs Australia Fourth Test Day 5 Brisbane Match Report 2021

Rishabh Pant scored a masterful unbeaten 89 as India pulled off a thrilling three wicket win over Australia in the fourth test at Gabba to win the series 2-1 and retain the Border Gavaskar Trophy on Tuesday. It was the highest ever successful fourth innings chase in Brisbane and marked Australia’s first test defeat at the venue since 1988.

Highest successful run chases at Gabba 2021 (1)

Resuming at an overnight score of 4/0, India lost Rohit Sharma early as he edged a Pat Cummins delivery to wicket keeper Tim Paine.

Shubman Gill along with Cheteshwar Pujara added a solid 114 run stand for the second wicket before the former (91) fell nine run short of his maiden century to Nathan Lyon.

Pujara and skipper Ajinkya Rahane then stitched together a 45 run stand for the third wicket before the latter, in the quest for some quick runs, edged one to Paine off Cummins for 24 while attempting a ramp shot, leaving India at 167/3.

Rishabh Pant walked in ahead of Mayank Agarwal, and in the company of the determined Pujara, kept the Australian bowlers at bay till tea. The visitors scored 100 runs for the loss of two wickets in the second session.

At one end Pant, who had struck a strokeful 97 in Sydney, started to get his eye in, while Pujara went on to register his third fifty of the series at the other. The duo put on 61 runs for the fourth wicket before Cummins struck with the second new ball by trapping the latter leg before wicket for 56.

Mayank Agarwal failed to get going as he became Cummins’ fourth victim for 9, caught by Matthew Wade at short cover.

Debutant Washington Sundar however provided valuable support to Pant by scoring a crucial 22, including a pull off Cummins for six, before being bowled by Nathan Lyon while attempting a reverse sweep.

With 10 runs needed to win, first innings hero Shardul Thakur joined Pant but was dismissed by Hazlewood with three left to get.

Two deliveries later, southpaw Pant drove an attempted Hazlewood yorker through mid-off to the fence as India sealed a historic win.

Pat Cummins was declared the Player of the Series.

Australia 369 and 294 India 326 and 329 for 7 in 97 overs (S Gill 91, R Pant 89 not out, C Pujara 56; Pat Cummins 4/55)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *