Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Chennai Super Kings 17 April Match Report- 2019

Jonny Bairstow scored a quickfire 61, as Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated Chennai Super Kings comfortably by 6 wickets at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad on Wednesday.

Chennai included Karn Shama and Sam Billings in place of injured MS Dhoni and Mitchell Santner, while Hyderabad brought in Yusuf Pathan and Shahbaz Nadeem for Ricky Bhui and Abhishek Sharma.

CSK startling line up vs SRH-2019

After winning the toss and electing to bat first, Chennai opening pair of Shane Watson and Faf Du Plessis started cautiously, but picked up the scoring rate by adding 79 runs for the first wicket, before Nadeem struck by dismissing Watson for 31.

Vijay Shankar got into the act by claiming the wicket of Du Plessis who was caught by wicket keeper Bairstow for a breezy 45.

Rashid Khan struck twice by dismissing the stand in skipper Suresh Raina and Kedar Jadhav in quick succession to halt the visitors progress.

Ambati Rayudu and Ravi Jadeja scored just 30 runs in the final 5 overs, as Hyderabad restricted Chennai to a modest total of 132/5 in their allotted 20 overs.

Rashid Khan was Sunrisers best bowler as he claimed 2/17 in 4 overs, while Khaleel Ahmed, Shankar and Nadeem bagged a wicket each.

Chasing a target of 133, Sunrisers reliable opening pair of David Warner and Bairstow made a fantastic beginning as the duo put on 66 runs in 34 balls, before the former was caught by Du Plessis off Deepak Chahar for an electrifying 50. His knock came in just 25 balls with 10 fours.

Imran Tahir brought some life into the match by claiming the wickets of skipper Kane Williamson and Vijay Shankar for 3 and 7 respectively.

Deepak Hooda while trying to finish the game was caught at long off by South African skipper Faf Du Plessis off Karn Sharma.

The 29 year old dashing England batsman stayed till the very end, as Sunrisers reached the target of 133, with 19 balls to spare.

Proteas leg spinner Imran Tahir was Super Kings best bowler as he bagged 2/20, while Chahar and Sharma claimed a wicket each.

David Warner was declared the Man of the Match for his blistering knock.

The 34th Match of the Indian Premier League will be played between Delhi Capitals and Mumbai Indians at Delhi on April 18, Thursday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *