India Men’s and Women’s T-20 World Cup 2020 Fixtures

The ICC have today (January 29, 2018) announced the fixtures of the Men’s and the Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 which is to be held in Australia on Tuesday- the first time the country will play host to the shortest format’s premier tournament.

The Indian Men’s cricket team are in Group 2 alongside England, South Africa, Afghanistan and two qualifiers.

The Indian Women’s team will be in Group A along with Australia, Sri Lanka, New Zealand and Qualifier 1.

The men’s team will begin their campaign against South Africa, while the women’s team will start the tournament against defending champions Australia.

The MCG will host the finals for both the men’s and women’s tournaments, just as it did for the 2015 Men’s Cricket World Cup final.

The women’s World Cup will be playing from February 21 to March 8, while the men’s fixtures will be played from October 18 to November 15 (including the qualifiers)

Somewhat interestingly, India and Pakistan will not square off in the group stages of the tournament. The ICC in recent years have admitted to wanting to place the two neighbours together, owing to the massive interest that the clash generates. However with Pakistan and India being No.1 and 2 in the current rankings, the two were placed into different groups. Since the 2011 World Cup, the two teams have met in all five ICC WC’s, with India emerging victorious in all of them.

India Men’s fixtures

24th October: India vs South Africa (Perth)

29th October: India vs A2 (MCG)

1st November: India vs England (MCG)

5th November: India vs B1 (Adelaide)

8th November: India vs Afghanistan (Sydney)

11th November: Semifinal 1

12th November: Semifinal 2

15th November: Final

Group stages (October 24 – November 8)

Group 1: Pakistan, Australia, West Indies, New Zealand, two qualifiers

Group 2: India, England, South Africa, Afghanistan, two qualifiers

India Women’s fixtures T20 World Cup 2020/strong>

21st February: Australia vs India

24th February: India vs Qualifier 1

27th February: India vs New Zealand

29th February: India vs Sri Lanka

Group A: Australia, New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka, Qualifier 1

Group B: England, West Indies, South Africa, Pakistan, Qualifier 2

Semi-finals: March 5

Final: March 8

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *