India vs West Indies Second Test Day 3 Match Report-2018

Umesh Yadav’s brilliant spell of bowling across both innings where he claimed 10 wickets in all, helped India beat the West Indies and claim the series 2-0 on the third day of the second test in Hyderabad.

The day started with India resuming on 308/4, with both overnight batsmen Ajinkya Rahane and Rishabh Pant hoping to give the Men in blue a big lead, but things fell apart as the Windes bowlers bowled magnificently in the first session, led by skipper Jason Holder.

Holder claimed the wickets of Rahane and Ravindra Jadeja in quick succession to peg the home side back. Shannon Gabriel then claimed the wicket of Indian wicketkeeper Rishab Pant for 92, who was caught brilliantly by Shimron Hetmyer.

Ravi Ashwin along with Shardul Thakur added 28 valuable runs for the final wicket, and gave India a slender lead of 56 runs, which at one point looked remotely impossible.

Ashwin was the last man to be dismissed, as India were bowled out for 367 runs.

The West Indian second innings started disastrously, as they lost the opening pair of Kraigg Brathwaite and Kieran Powell for ducks.

Shai Hope and Shimron Hetmyer resurrected the innings by adding 39 runs for the third wicket before the latter fell to a awful shot, caught by Pujara off Kuldeep Yadav for 17 runs.

With Roston Chase unable to repeat his heroics from the first innings, the West Indies lower middle order crumbled as they fell to 76/6.

Sunil Ambris was the lone man who showed some resistance, but unfortunately couldn’t get the team a decent lead and the visitors were eventually bowled out for 127.

Chasing 72 runs to win, India’s opening pair of Prithvi Shaw and Kl Rahul finished it at an canter, with the home side eventually winning by 10 wickets.

Yadav was the Man of the match for his brilliant spell of bowling, while Prithvi Shaw was adjudged the Man of the Series for three fantastic innings with the bat.

India and West Indies will now be facing each other in the One dayers, with the the first one to take place at Guwahati on October 21.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *